Why the Laborers (of God) are Few

A few years ago, while reading “The harvest is plentiful but the laborers are few” (Matthew 9:37), I asked the Lord why it was so. This was the conversation that followed:

Me: Why are the laborers few?

God: Where are you now?

Me: Kazakstan.

God: Can I send you to Kazakstan?

Me: Technically, no, since I already am in Kazakstan.

God: Exactly.

Me: Huh?

God: Most of my people are in the world. Before I can send them, I need them to come out of the world, come into My kingdom and learn My ways. And when they are ready, I will send them back into the world to make disciples of the nations.

Application:

We should pray that God will send forth His laborers into the harvest field as Jesus instructed. But we have a job to do: to teach God’s people how to be in the world but not of the world; how to be sanctified and holy unto the Lord; how to walk in complete obedience. This is the work of the apostles, prophets, evangelists, pastors and teachers.

Leave a Reply

