Have a Need? Call the Elders

In his letter, James, the brother of Jesus, advises believers to call the elders of the church whenever they are sick or have a need because the prayer of a righteous person is effective and will be answered. This might still be the practice of many more traditional churches today. But for others, because they have organized themselves in smaller sub-communities within the church, they tend to share prayer requests among themselves and pray for one another.

While this is good in that it teaches Christians to love not only in speech, but also in deed and in truth, it is also done at the expense of prolonged suffering and pain because the prayer of the Christian in need is not being answered.

I learned this lesson the hard way. I used to let nearly anyone and everyone who was willing to pray for my need. As I listened to some of they prayers, my hairs stood on its ends. Some times, I even had to reject their prayers later on in private. As a result of all these experiences, I resorted to only seeking out righteous men who knew how to pray. You should do the same. Along the way, you will also learn how to pray effectively. The problem with Christians, especially immature ones, praying together is that negative behavior, or bad habits, even wrong doctrine, are being reinforced continuously.

If you are a righteous man or woman – now is not the time to be modest – the Bible compels you to bear one another’s burden. It is more than merely praying with someone else who has a need. Bearing another’s burden is to take that burden upon yourself and making it yours. And, now, when you pray for that need, you are praying as if for yourself. It could be life or death now. And without a doubt, you will be praying with all your heart, soul, and strength.

3 thoughts on “Have a Need? Call the Elders

  1. Good day I am so delighted I found your site, I really found
    you by error, while I was looking on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I
    am here now and would just like to say kudos for a fantastic post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

