What do you want to do?

What do you want to do? That was the question God asked me yesterday. Then as I pondered over this question more later, I realized the gravity of it. In parenthesis, God was also saying: “Choose carefully.”

There is a background to this, and here it is.

Since March this year I have been waiting on God to show me what His next assignment for me is. In May, I heard God call me to Israel to serve His people. But till now the door has not opened for me to go. So, in the meantime, I thought, I should be looking for something to do. In spite of the numerous applications I have submitted, none were responded to. Then, just last week, I was told of a church that needed help. I met with the pastor and discussed the matter. It was a small church and they were in the midst of a transition. I was inclined to take up the “job” for the above reasons. It was at this point that God posed the question to me.

In a way, He was asking me to choose my “calling” and “destiny”. If I accept the role in the church, then I would forfeit His call for me to Israel. I would be saying to God: “Thanks, but no thanks.” I would be paving my own way because I was too impatient to wait for His will to come to pass. What God wants me to do, instead, is to wait upon Him, to trust Him, to open the door.

Leave a Reply

