What is your Spiritual ECA?

ministries

Youth Ministry. Children’s Ministry. Worship Ministry. Women’s Ministry. Men’s Ministry. Prison Ministry. Small Group Ministry. Evangelism Ministry. Intercessory Ministry. And the list goes on, and on.

These are just some of the ministries – ways one can serves – that are found in a typical church. But the interesting thing is that these ministries are not found in the Bible, with the exception of the Worship Ministry which the Israelite priests and Levites were responsible for. Yet, these ministries have become the pillars of the church. Conversely, there is a ministry that the Bible talks about but the Church has mostly been ignoring. It is the Ministry of Reconciliation.

All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation. (2 Corinthian 5:18).

From Second Corinthians 5, we know that the Ministry of Reconciliation is for everyone who has been born again. So, if you consider yourself a Christian and are born again, you are an “ambassador of Christ” and have been entrusted with the “message of reconciliation” (verses 19 and 20). No one is exempt from this, and you cannot opt out of it either. Since I have written about the Ministry of Reconciliation I shall not repeat myself here. I hope that you will read it.

In short, the Church has managed to major on the minor and minor on the major. Instead of reminding every church member about their God-given ministry and responsibility, they have distracted them activities and responsibilities which only serve to ‘oil’ the great machinery called the local church.

Not too long ago, someone asked for my opinion about joining the church’s worship team. He had the ability to play the drums and had hoped to use his talent in service to the church and to God. In my typical frank fashion, I discouraged him from doing so. I referred to such forms of service “Spiritual ECA” or “Spiritual Hobbies”.

Many years ago, when I was in my twenties, I too was very active in church. I was at one time heading the Young Adult Fellowship. Disciplemaking was my passion and calling. But for one year, I decided to join the choir. I convinced myself that it too was a form of service to the Lord. I wasn’t a terrific singer but could sing nonetheless. Through the course of the year I was given a number of solo parts. Not bad, huh?

At the end of the year, after the dust of the Christmas Musical had settled, I heard the Holy Spirit ask me, “What will you present to me if I came right now?” Immediately I thought of the stakes and stakes of music scores which we had learned, practiced and performed – that’s right, performed – that year. I felt a tad proud that I had answer to God’s question. But as soon as I had spoken those words, fear overtook me. I remembered, by the Spirit’s prompting, that in the end everything will be tested with FIRE.

The Holy Spirit was silent after that. He needn’t say anything. It was clear to me what I had to do next.

At the next choir rehearsal, I shared the above incident and announced that I would be leaving the choir and return to the ministry I was called to in the first place. I didn’t know that my words would have such influence on the rest of the choir. In the following weeks, one by one started to leave the choir too. Three months later, the choir was dissolved.

Make no mistake about what I am trying to say here. The ministries in the church are not wrong or sinful. They are just not for those who are seriously looking to do the Will of God.

Leave a Reply

